Enactment of the Constitution

On 26th November, 1949, the Constitution was declared as passed. The provisions relating to citizenship, elections and provisional parliament were implemented with immediate effect, that is from the 26th November, 1949. The rest of the provisions came in to force on 26th January, 1950.

Our constitution had a Preamble and 395 Articles, 18 parts and 8 schedules. The Constitution has undergone 100 Amendments since it’s enactment. The Constitution, in its current form, consists of a Preamble, 25 pa nirts, 465 Articles and 12 schedules.

Leave a Reply